ECSA Certification: A Complete Overview In 2021


If you are a mid-level security architect or manager and are looking for certifications and programs to take you to the next level, ESCA training is an excellent choice. The program offers advanced level training in the analysis of the outcome of hacking tools and technologies. This certification efficiently fills in the gaps of a CEH course. The ESCA certification is an improved version of the CEH program that enhances the skills of ethical hackers in real-world scenarios.

ECSA certification is most often recommended as a follow-up to the CEH course and is a prerequisite for LPT certification.

  1. What is ECSA?
  2. Why is ESCA so important?
  3. What’s the ESCA examination?
  4. What are the ECSA examination requirements, and what are the costs involved?
  5. Why register with EC Council ECSA?
  6. ECSA jobs and salaries

1. What is ECSA?

EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA) is a program that lets you upgrade your skills if you have already completed basic ethical hacking training. It adds on to earlier certifications like Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH). The course covers advanced security techniques and a Licensed Penetration Tester (LPT). The EC or the International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants is a professional certification body for e-business and information security skills.

2. Why is ESCA so important?

While ethical hacking training is a good start, and ESCA certification can boost your employment possibilities. ECSA training is part of a 3-step process for cybersecurity experts, including CEH training, followed by ESCA, and the LPT certification. With these qualifications, you will be an ethical hacking expert recognized by the IT community. 

3. What’s the ESCA examination?

The certification process involves hands-on testing exams and multiple challenges such as acquiring protected files and breaking into machines within a set time limit. Additionally, you will have to submit a report detailing the fixes and countermeasures for the hacking challenges attempted in the test.

The ESCA examination follows this initial test. ECSA certification is awarded after you pass the ECSA v10 exam. The exam has 150 questions that are to be answered in 4 hours. The official EC–Council Information page will detail the requirements needed for clearing the next examination. The exams are graded based on the difficulty of the questions and not the number of questions answered, making the passing grade vary for every exam. The examinations can be taken at ECC centres around the world.

4. What are the ECSA examination requirements, and what are the costs involved?

The candidate must fulfill the following eligibility criteria to apply for the ECSA examination.

  • They must hold an ECSA certification (any version).  
  • Or have a minimum of 2 years of work experience in the Infosec domain.
  • Or must have attended an EC-Council-approved training course.

The candidate must also be at least 18 years old. Candidates under 18 years of age can submit consent letters from their guardians or supporting letters from their higher education institutions to be eligible for the examination.

A non-refundable application fee of 100 USD is applicable if your eligibility is based on work experience. For the other two criteria, this application fee is waived off or is included in the training course fees. The training fee may vary depending on the region, training centre, and training mode.

If your application is approved, it is valid for 3 months, and you must clear the exams within this period. The exam voucher has to be purchased from the EC Council online store or an authorized training centre.

Explore the different training centres in the country and the ECSA certification cost in India to pick the one that suits you the best and get started with your certification process.

5. Why register with EC Council ECSA?

EC-Council is a widely recognized and respected organization in the field of cybersecurity. Having a certification under the EC-Council will work as proof of your skills and eligibility with credibility. The ECSA online policy page describes the continuing education programs that every EC-Council member is expected to participate in.

6. ECSA jobs and salaries

ECSA certification objectively improves your hiring chances. According to Payscale, EC Council certified individuals draw an exponentially higher salary than a non-certified professional. ESCA certificated professionals have a wider choice of jobs which can include the following:

  • Penetration Testers
  • Security Analysts
  • Security Engineers
  • Network Server Administrators
  • Firewall Administrators
  • Security Testers
  • System Administrators
  • Risk Assessment Professionals


The alarming rise in cyber-crime has created a huge demand for cybersecurity professionals. A certified ethical hacker will find many lucrative jobs in this industry. A security analyst plays an important role in defense against growing security threats. The ECSA arms you with the skills and experience needed to secure sensitive data from being stolen or infiltrated.

To become an industry-accepted security professional, get the ECSA certification and pass the ECSA examination. Further, you can aim for your LPT certification to complete your cybersecurity expertise.

The ESCA certification recognizes individuals as EC-Council certified security analysts. These highly coveted certifications can get you started in your dream job in cybersecurity. With this internationally recognized academic qualification, your marketability is enhanced.

So, have you made up your mind to make a career in Cyber Security? Visit our Master Certificate in Cyber Security (Red Team) for further help. It is the first program in offensive technologies in India and allows learners to practice in a real-time simulated ecosystem, that will give them an edge in this competitive world.


Related Articles

Please wait while your application is being created.
Request Callback